Snapchat is undoubtedly one of the most used social media applications of the millennium. If you decide you no longer want your Snapchat account, it’s easy to delete it. Here’s how to delete your Snapchat account and deactivate your account. Snapchat has unique features like fun filters you can manually add and share with your friends or have a simple chat with great GIFs and stickers.
However, you can only do so on the Snapchat website, which means you need to know your login information. Note that once you complete these steps, your Snapchat account will not be deleted right away. This will be disabled for 30 days, during which time you will have the option to reactivate your account before deleting it permanently.
This article explains how to close your Snapchat account. You can temporarily disable Snapchat if you want to bring it back. In fact, you must first deactivate your account before you can permanently delete it. While last month you might be happy to send snaps create stories, become someone’s super BFF and continue Snapstick, this month the multimedia messaging service may seem a bit past.
It is a platform where users can share pictures with friends using different filters. In this article, we will give you a step-by-step guide on how to delete a Snapchat account, how to deactivate it, and how to save your data on the Snapchat platform.
- 1 How to delete Snapchat account
- 2 Snapchat apk account delete
- 3 How to delete and deactivate the Snapchat account
- 4 Steps to download Snapchat data before deleting the account
- 5 How to Reactivate Your Snapchat Account
- 6 How to download Snapchat data
- 8 FAQs
How to delete Snapchat account
Snapchat is an instant messaging app popular with young people that allows users to send pictures and videos that can only be viewed for a short time. But while millions of daily active users use and create content with Snapchat, not everyone is satisfied with the mobile app.
One of Snapchat’s most notable concerns is that a recipient can record a snap without the knowledge or consent of a creator. And although Snapchat notifies a sender when a recipient takes a screenshot or records a video through proprietary software, some apps allow recipients to avoid these checks.
If you no longer wish to keep your Snapchat account, you can delete it. If you are tired of using Snapchat and you want to remove your face from the platform, it only takes a few clicks. Snapchat gives users the right to delete or deactivate their accounts. While Snapchat is a fun field for many, it’s not for everyone.
If you go to your Snapchat settings in the mobile app, you will not find anything that takes you through the process of deleting your Snapchat account. Don’t worry, it is possible to delete a snap account, but you have to do it from a web browser. If you’ve read that section and want to permanently delete your Snapchat account, here’s a step-by-step guide on how to do it.
Snapchat apk account delete
Go to the Accounts Portal and type the username and password of the account you want to delete. (Keep this information in mind if you change your mind and want to reactivate your account.)
After you take action to delete your account, it will be deactivated for the first 30 days. While your account is inactive, your friends will not be able to contact or interact with you on Snapchat.
After an additional 30 days, your account will be permanently deleted. This means deleting your account, account settings, friends, snap, chat, story, device data, and location data from our main user database.
How to delete and deactivate the Snapchat account
Step 1: Go to the Snapchat web browser.
Step 2: Log in to your account.
Step 3: Click on ‘Delete my Account‘ on the Manage My Account page.
Step 4: Confirm your decision by re-entering your username and password.
Step 5: Click on Continue.
Step 6: On the next page, you’ll receive a message stating your account is in the process of being deactivated. You can check the status of your account by trying to log in again.
Now, if you want to delete and deactivate your account permanently, refrain from logging into the app for 30 days after you deactivate it. You can only delete your account through the Snapchat web browser. Before you delete your Snapchat account permanently, make sure you download a copy of your Snapchat data.
Steps to download Snapchat data before deleting the account
- Step 1: Visit your Snapchat account on the web browser.
- Step 2: Log in with your username and password.
- Step 3: Now, go to the My Data section on the Manage my Account page.
- Step 4: Click on Submit request at the bottom of the page.
- Step 5: In the next step, Snapchat will send you an email to your registered account.
- Step 6: Click on the link to download Snapchat data.
- Step 7: All the data will be saved on your device, in a zip file format.
How to Reactivate Your Snapchat Account
If you change your mind about deleting your Snapchat account, you can always reactivate it, if you do so within 30 days of deactivating it. To reactivate it, all you need to do is sign in to your Snapchat account using your username (not your email address) and your password.
If you recently deactivated your account and tried to reactivate it, you may have to wait a while until the deactivation process is complete, which can take up to 24 hours (according to Snapchat).
If you have verified your email address in your account, you should receive an email informing you that your account has been successfully deactivated. Once you have it, you can go ahead and sign in to your account to reactivate it.
How to download Snapchat data
Your Snapchat data carries your login history, account information, profile, snap and chat history, memories, friends, search history, Bitmoji, and more. You can download your Snapchat data before deleting your account to save data.
- Go to accounts.snapchat.com
- Log into your account.
- Click My Data and then click Submit Request.
- You’ll receive a download link to your verified Snapchat email address.
- Use the link to download your data.
Snapchat stores three types of information:
- The information you want to provide (all the information you enter while using the app);
- Information obtained when you use Snapchat (information from your device, location, logs, etc.);
- Third-party information (information from advertisers, contact lists of other users, information from linked third party apps);
By law, it may share this information with other users, sister companies, business partners, or stakeholders. It also uses it for internal purposes (e.g., ad-targeting). You can also download your data or revoke permission to use it at the expense of certain functions.
Can I reactivate my Snapchat account after 30 days?
No, Snapchat account reactivation is only available for 30 days. After that, your account will be deactivated and not accessible to you.
Can I delete Snapchat account from my mobile?
Snapchat account deletion is only possible through the Snapchat account web portal. The mobile app does not offer you the option to delete Snapchat account.
Can you permanently delete Snapchat account?
Yes, by using the Snapchat account web portal you can follow the aforementioned steps to delete Snapchat account permanently.